3 weeks in

Well my first 3 weeks of medical school flew by.  I can barely remember my own name, let alone approximately 321+++ muscles, bones, ligaments and nerves of the body that I should have memorized by now.  Life is busy but life is good.  My brain is finally making the adjustments that will get me through the next 4 years…I think.  Studying now is so different from undergrad, post-bac and regular grad school.

Favorite thing (er, living things) about school: my new friends, they are pretty amazing and make me laugh lots.

Least favorite thing about med school: gross anatomy…yep, it’s gross alright.  The smell, the cadaver juice, the fact that I look like a complete idiot when trying to name things that my prof points out…I could go on and on.  It’s gonna be a rough one.  Wish me luck!

I finally started crossfit (on my first day of classes…I like to start out with a bang) and it is an awesome way to burn off a little school stress and get in a good sweat session.  It hasn’t been very long, but I can already tell that it’s going to work for me.

I’ve been eating mostly paleo (with heavy cream in my coffee and the occasional whole milk latte for a pick-me-up of course).  I feel good overall but have developed a nasty addiction to Trader Joe’s olive oil potato chips!!  They are too good ahhhhh.  No vegetable oils, either!  Potatoes, salt, olive oil.  As vices go, mine could be worse.

That’s about all…oh and I turned 27 over labor day weekend.  Holy crap.  My mom took a pic to document my old-ness:

It was mostly low-key.  I took all of my books home and studied only one chapter of one of my 5 subjects in 3 days.  Oops!  My friends came down and we had some fun at the bay…sometimes relaxation is just necessary.

Some recipes coming soon!

4 comments
  1. kaydeelynn said:

    Best of luck with medical school!

  2. Hey this is totally random but I’ve been following your blog for the past year (I think you had a different one before) and just realized you’re in the same class as my sister-in-law, Bekah. Small world! Anyway, love the recipes you put up!

    • such a small world!!! trying to keep up with the recipes but things are pretty crazy right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

