community supported agriculture is my jam

Day 5 of CFCCBCCC.

Brunch at 11a – 3 scrambled eggs in kerrygold and 3 slices home-cured bacon from the Amish (who know their shit).  Shot of bacon grease for good measure.

Kidding about the bacon grease.

Snack at 3:30p – apple from my CSA.  Holla at CSA day!

I could harp on the value of being a CSA member for hours but I will spare you.  In a nutshell, it forces me to try a variety of new veggies and recipes as well as eat sustainably and locally, thereby maximizing the fresh factor and nutrients coming from the foods I eat.  I spend less $$ in the long run and it makes cooking paleo easier by 10-fold.

I normally plan most of my home-cooked meals based off of the items I receive each Thursday.  This week’s goods:

  • Spicy Salad Greens: Sunny Harvest Co-op, Kirkwood, PA
  • Curly Endive: Flaim Farms, Vineland, NJ
  • Carrots: Sunny Harvest Co-op, Kirkwood, PA
  • Organic Yummy Peppers: Mad Dog Farm, Bloomsburg, PA
  • Poblano Peppers: Flaim Farms, Vineland, NJ
  • Broccoli: Sunny Harvest Co-op, Kirkwood, PA
  • Bosc Pears: Three Springs Fruit Farm, Aspers, PA
  • Jonathan Apples: Beechwood Orchards, Biglerville, PA
  • Sweet Potatoes: Cassaday Farm, Monroeville, NJ
  • Oldwyck Shepherd Cheese (raw sheep’s milk): Valley Shepherd Creamery, Long Valley, NJ
  • Dozen Cage-Free Eggs: Sandy Ridge Farm, Elizabethtown, PA

Pick the anomaly.  I am really excited for:

crossfit tonight

an endive bacon marriage tomorrow

anatomy studying alllllllllllllldayerrrday.

Dinner – same as last night (sausage, saurkraut, applesauce) plus this green salad with bacon, red bell pepper, beets, olives, oldwyck shepherd raw sheep’s milk cheese, balsamic and olive oil.

I also had 2 squares of superdark chocolate before crossfit.

4 comments
  1. We get the same csa! Do you pick yours up from west Phila? We should swap recipes sometime. Great job with the bccc

    • Nice!! I love greensgrow so much. I pick mine up at the farm 🙂 We will def do a recipe swap!

Leave a Reply

