paleo fail confessional

CFCCBCCC Days 6, 7, 8 

I made it to the 6am session Friday morning since I was planning on going to the Phillies game after class.  Running on 4 hours of sleep, I PR’d my back squat (145 lbs) and ran the mile in 7:09.  I was happy with those numbers but I feel like I should have broken 7 mins.  My knee was visibly swollen the rest of the day and I took the entire weekend off.  It feels fine today but my arms do not.  Just like everyone else, they are still(!!) sore from our 100 pull-ups on Thursday.  Ridiculous.

School was rough this week.  While I feel like I am finally perfecting my ‘way’ of studying and retaining everything, I am mourning the loss of my extracurricular activities.  I want my social life back.  I’m glad I said yes to the game because I really needed a night of fun.

My friends were tailgating when we got to the stadium and after a long week, all I wanted at that point was a beer.  I drank half of one and had another after the game with some Abbaye pomme frites.  I am actually not a big drinker normally which is why I didn’t cut alcohol for the challenge.  Anyway, I’m not going to beat myself up over this but I am going to try to avoid (not gluten-free) alcohol from now until the end of the challenge.  Someone give me a paleo fail confessional booth.  I also had (coconut based) ice cream from Franklin Fountain last night.  Mint chip and chocolate.  AHhhhhh so good.  Ame and I had a girls night which consisted of me getting her hooked on The Walking Dead while we stuffed our faces with said ice cream.

I did  have some great eats this weekend in spite of my paleo fails.

Curly Endive Salad with Warm Bacon Dressing, fried eggs and purple potatoes.  Purple taters are cool.  I made the bacon ‘dressing’ with bacon grease and Bragg’s apple cider vinegar + salt & pepper.  Simple.

Bull’s BBQ ribs at the stadium – I ate the ribs and slaw, skipped the beans.

Sunday night redemption meal for my paleo sins…Ground sirloin burger with manchego (sheep’s milk) cheese, avocado, tomato, roasted peppers and broccoli.  Plus a green salad.

Have a great week BCCC’ers!!

Leave a Reply

