shakshouka (shakshuka)!

CFCCBCCC day 9.

Breakfast – Banana and coffee and heavy cream.  I was late for class no time for eggs.  The horror.

Lunch – Sirloin burger with manchego, roasted peppers and 1/2 a large avocado.

Dinner was one of my favorites!  Enjoyed with a glass of red wine because the BEAR COMPLEX kicked my ass/I dropped the bar on my neck (my own damn fault) ooooooops won’t do that again…I hope.  I have a nasty bruise.

Shakshouka is a recipe I recreated after having it at my local coffee shop a few times.  I posted it on my old blog a while ago but here it is again for my BCCCers.  The secret to mine (that I stole from said spot) is adding sausage.  It gives it that extra little somethin’ somethin’.  I also like throwing in whatever vegetables I have on hand – mushrooms are particularly tasty with it.  It is not a very photogenic dish, but of course that means it’s awesome tasting!

Steamy pan ‘o shuka!

Shakshouka with Sausage and Mushrooms

(Serves 2 – 4)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 lb mild sausage (I used italian (?) mild turkey links from Giunta’s Prime Shop today)
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 1 red (or other color) bell pepper, sliced into strips
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-2 jalalpenos, seeded and minced
  • 4-5 large button mushrooms, sliced thin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 can diced tomatoes in juice
  • sea salt & black pepper, to taste
  • 4 eggs
  • Handful italian parsley, chopped

Directions:

  • Cook sausage on medium heat in butter until almost 100% done.  Remove from pan and slice into thin coins (or chop/crumble)
  • Add onion and bell pepper to pan and cook for about 5 minutes.
  • Add garlic,  jalapeno, mushrooms, seasoning and olive oil and mix.  Let cook about 5 minutes.
  • Add sausage back to pan, plus the tomatoes (with juice), salt & pepper
  • Simmer with lid off until liquids are almost completely evaporated.  Crack eggs into pan and cover, poaching eggs until they are done as well as you’d like.
  • Top with parsley and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

