Paleo souffle and halfway there!

Day 14 CFCCBCCC.

I am still BCCC’ing.  Just have ZERO time to report anything right now due to our ‘hell week’ at school…I have been eating leftovers on the fly the last few days.  Had lots of them in my fridge and finished up the last of them this afternoon.

Mornings have been looking much like this still.

Lunches of salads and/or leftovers.

There is bacon under all those veggies…bacon bacon bacon <3.

Speaking of bacon, bacon fat and butter roasted cauliflower is goooooooooooooooood.

I ate rice one night this past week because I made a red thai coconut curry and wanted something to soak up all of the delicious sauce.  This was a yummy and easy meal.  Followed a recipe off the back of the red curry paste jar and added some red bell peppers and cilantro to the mix.

Other than this rice and heavy cream in coffee, I have been doing really well with my goals.  Lattes are at a bare minimum.  I did eat the cheddar cheese curds (from pastured cows) that I got in my CSA this week and they were so yummy and did not bother my stomach.  SQUEAKY CHEESE!  Still have not purchased any ‘snacky’ paleo-friendly foods but instead, I am getting creative with veggies and fruits OR trying to eat big enough meals so that I don’t have to rely on snacks.  I haven’t been craving too much lately except dessert-type foods.  I have been making variations of my paleo souffle of sorts as well as microwaving a plain apple (cored) and topping it with cinnamon.

This is a blueberry version of my souffle – it is NOT sweet at all but it is a craving-fix for sure.

Blueberry Paleo Souffle

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • tablespoon water
  • 1/4 teaspoon aluminum-free baking powder
  • 1/4 cup almond meal (trader joe’s brand works well)
  • if you are not sugar-free for this challenge, small drizzle of honey or maple syrup
  • dash of sea salt
  • dash of vanilla (optional)
  • dash of cinnamon (optional)
  • small handfull (less than 1/4 cup) frozen blueberries

All you do is whisk everything together until smooth and microwave in a deep bowl for about 3 minutes (maybe less depending on your microwave).

I also have been doing a chocolate version.  For that, I omit the fruit and replace with 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder.  I top the chocolate one with bananas mmmmm!  I think this would work well with a bit of almond or sunflower butter on top but I am avoiding those for the challenge.  The possibilities are endless!

This week at crossfit:

Monday – bear complex (the bear got me)

Tuesday – bench press worked up to 5 reps x 70 lbs.  I can now do double unders consecutively!  Hit 20 reps at one point during the WOD.

Wednesday – broad jump was 96% max.  deadlift worked up to 3 reps x 173 lbs (did 4 sets of 3RM).  PR’d my 1000m row by a few seconds (4:04 and change?).  I want to break 4 mins!

Th – Rest day due to pain in ze neck.

F – worked up to 3RM backsquat of 128 lbs.  Movin’ on up.  I couldn’t do the WOD because I aggravated the area under my upper medial border of my scapula during monday’s workout.  I attemped the ring dips and burpees for one round and then had to call it quits because it was pinching and heading up my neck.  Rowed 1k in 4:15 mins.  Guess I’ll be rowing instead for a bit.  I took thursday off but I think I need at least a week for this one.  This is an old, reoccuring injury and it is so frustrating to get it back to normal.  Knee is feeling good lately, knock on wood.  If it’s not one thing, it’s another.  Ice and I are bffs.

Back to the books byeeeeee!

5 comments
  1. aawenzel said:

    Hey girl! Just found your blog. I’m a 3rd year and I write a healthy living blog too! I’m not totally paleo like you (way to go!). Anyways, I just thought I would say hi! Good luck with school!

    • Hey! Awesome! Adding you to my reader 🙂

    • I LOVE the name of your blog hahahaha. amazing.

      • Tina T. said:

        Haha, thanks! It’s how I feel when I get my OMG I’M STARVING mood! 🙂

Leave a Reply

