paleo sweet potato pancakes

Each time I have attempted to make flourless ‘paleo pancakes’ recipes that are floating around on various blogs, I failed.  Many use banana in the batter and without any sort of flour, they just doesn’t work for me and I end up with scrambled eggnana.

These are different, see?  They look and taste like real pancakes and cook up in a flash.

Paleo Sweet Potato Pancakes

Makes 3 pancakes and serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 small organic sweet potato or 1/2 large sweet potato
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice OR 1/3 tsp cinnamon + 1/8 teaspoon (or less) nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon aluminum-free baking powder (not technically paleo but I pick my battles)
  • sprinkle of sea salt
  • tiny drizzle of honey
  • organic virgin coconut oil (trader joe’s kind works well)

Directions:

  • Peel a small sweet potato and cut it into relatively small cubes. Place on a plate and add no more than 1 or 2 tablespoons of water.  Cover tightly with saran wrap (I swear by press ‘n seal for steaming things) and microwave about 5 minutes, or until sweet potato is very soft.  Mash up with a fork and let cool slightly.  If you use a large sweet potato, only use half and refrigerate the rest for another batch.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk eggs.  Add in sweet potato and mix.  Add baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, honey and salt and whisk to a smooth consistency.
  • Heat a non-stick ceramic pan on medium heat.  I fry my pancakes one at a time, each time adding about 1/2 teaspoon coconut oil and 1/3 cup of batter.
  • Cook 2-3 minutes per side, covered.  They puff up nicely and I haven’t had any problems with them not cooking through the middle.

Top with almond butter, blueberries, bananas, coconut oil and if you aren’t sugar-free…a drizzle of real maple syrup!

22 comments
  1. Danielle Fonseca said:

    This looks really tasty… I may have to try this one day

  2. ejs0529 said:

    I can’t wait to try these!!!

    • do it gurl they are pretty bomb for paleo if I do say so myself!

  3. That pic made me so hungry! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  4. Kj said:

    OMG! I just made these & they’re incredible!!
    Light & fluffy, wonderfully tasty & gone in a flash 😉 Definitely a brekkie I’ll continue to make, thanks!

  5. Ian said:

    Thanks for the recipe! I think next time I’ll try cutting it with a bit of almond flour because, while the flavor was wonderful, the middles were a little more quiche-y than pancake-y. Keep up the great work!

    • Good call!! I find that the texture varies depending on ratio of egg to sweet potato and how much liquid evaporates when you microwave the sweet potato, etc. It’s a precise science 🙂 I want to try them with coconut flour at some point, too.

  6. how many calories are in each serving? These look delish

    • I don’t count so not really sure sorry! I would say about 300 cals for 2 eggs plus the small sweet potato, give or take what you add in or top them with. I usually eat a relatively large breakfast so I add banana and/or almond butter on top – probably around 500 total with those.

  7. Happy Celiac said:

    I tried these this morning for the first time. Absolutely delicious! I’ve been looking ages forgluten free primal pancakes. Many thanks for a great recipe. They’re so good I’ve shared the link on twitter.

  8. Rhian said:

    Just made these pancakes for lunch and they were delicious! They had the perfect consistency, just like real pancakes and held together really easily too. I was surprised
    I served mine with soured cream and honey and I loved them. Thanks for the recipe, I’m definitely saving it

Leave a Reply

